Legacy logging directory security update
During an upgrade to NetBackup 11.0, the permissions on the legacy log directories are set to a more restrictive level with the new ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS value. This change is designed to prevent unauthorized access to the NetBackup logs, which may contain sensitive information.
The default value is ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS=NO. This value restricts access to the legacy NetBackup logs.
You can change log file permissions to the less restrictive setting by changing ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS to YES. If you want to retain the less restrictive log permissions during the NetBackup 11.0 upgrade, set ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS=YES with the nbsetconfig command before you upgrade.
To again restrict the legacy log permissions, set ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS=NO with nbsetconfig.
See the NetBackup Commands Reference Guide for assistance with the nbsetconfig command.
See the NetBackup Logging Reference Guide for additional information about the ALLOW_WORLD_READABLE_LOGS value.