Erase a volume
You can erase the data on a volume if the following are true:
The volume is not assigned.
The volume contains no valid NetBackup images.
A single volume is selected to erase.
After NetBackup erases the media, NetBackup writes a label on the media.
If you erase the media, NetBackup cannot restore or import the data on the media.
Note:
NetBackup does not support erase functions on NDMP drives.
The following table describes the types of erase.
Table: Types of erase
To erase a volume
- If a volume contains valid NetBackup images, deassign the volume so NetBackup can label it.
- Open the NetBackup web UI.
- On the left, select Storage > Tape storage.
- Select the Volumes tab.
- Select a volume that you want to erase.
- Select Quick erase or Long erase.
- Specify the name of the media server to initiate the erase operation.
To overwrite any existing labels on the media, do not select Verify media label before performing action.
- Select Confirm if you are certain you want to start the erase action.
If you selected Verify media label before performing operation and the actual volume label does not match the expected label, the media is not erased.