Performing the resync operation for applications
When disaster strikes on a production data center, the recover operation is invoked to start the resiliency groups on the recovery data center.
Since the production data center is not working, the data replication between the two sites does not happen. After the production site is back up and running, you need to prepare the production site for the next migrate operation. This preparation includes cleaning up any residue and resuming the replication from the recovery to the production site.
Use the Resync operation on the Resiliency Platform console to automate these steps for the required resiliency groups. This operation cleans up the residue which includes stopping applications and virtual machines, unregistering virtual machines, unmounting file systems, datastores, etc.
This operation is applicable for InfoScale and non-InfoScale applications.
Performing the resync operation
- Navigate
Assets (navigation pane) > Resiliency Group(s) tab
- Double-click the resiliency group to view the details page. Click Resync.
- In the Resync panel, select the production data center name from the drop-down list, and click Next.
If the Resync operation fails, check to know the reason and fix it. You can then launch the operation. The operation restarts the resync workflow, it skips the steps that were successfully completed and retries those that had failed.
Do not restart the workflow service while any workflow is in running state, otherwise the operation may not work as expected.