Deleting a resiliency group
When you delete a resiliency group from Resiliency Platform management, you can no longer monitor, manage, or protect the assets using Resiliency Platform. Deleting the resiliency group from Resiliency Platform has no effect on the underlying assets.
If the resiliency group was configured for protection using Resiliency Platform Data Mover replication, then Resiliency Platform Data Mover is unconfigured before the resiliency group is deleted. Resiliency groups can be deleted from source data center, on-premises target (recovery) data center, or from cloud recovery data center.
To successfully complete the delete operation ensure the following:
The assets are running and accessible.
The xprtld daemon on the virtual machines is running. This is applicable only if the replication technology used is Resiliency Platform Data Mover.
On successful completion of the delete operation, you will notice the following:
During the operation, replication is stopped and Veritas Replication Sets are deleted on gateways and from the virtual machines.
Replication Block Tracking (RBT) disks are removed from the virtual machines on the source data center and the cloud virtual machines instances are deleted.
If the resiliency group is deleted from on-premises data center, then all the cloud virtual machines disks that are attached to the target Replication Gateway are deleted.
Note:
Replication Gateway pairs are not deleted during the delete operation.
You can uninstall Veritas Resiliency Platform Guest Customization Agent from the virtual machine that is removed from a resiliency group (which is DR protected). This is applicable only in the following scenarios:
Recovering VMware virtual machines to on-premises data center using Resiliency Platform Data Mover
Recovering VMware virtual machines on-premises data center using Netbackup.
To uninstall the agent, 'Power off' or 'Shutdown' and then 'Power On' the virtual machines from vCenter. The agent is uninstalled after an hour after the virtual machine restarts. You can verify that the Agent has been uninstalled by looking at the list of installed programs in the virtual machine guest.
If you are deleting a resiliency group that was configured for protection using Resiliency Platform Data Mover replication, then you can select the following options:
During the delete operation you can choose to delete the disks on the source data center.
You can choose to ignore any subtasks that fail during the delete operation.
If you choose to ignore the failed subtasks, then you need to clean them up manually.
When you delete a resiliency group, consisting of physical machines, which is active on the target data center you need to do the following:
Manually cleanup the Veritas Replication Sets on the physical machines on the source data center.
Unsign the Replication Block Tracking (RBT) disks on the source data center.
To delete a resiliency group
- Navigate
Assets (navigation pane) Resiliency Group(s) tab
- Locate the resiliency group. Use filters or Search as needed.
On the row for the resiliency group, select the vertical ellipsis > Delete.
You can also perform operations from the Details page
- Review the selection and click Next.
- On the Resiliency Platform Data Mover Unconfiguration panel, select whether you want to continue the operation in case of any failures.
- In the Select Source Policy panel, select the policies without vtstap capability. You can apply the selection to all or apply individually.
This panel is displayed if the resiliency group is configured for remote recovery using Resiliency Platform Data Mover along with VMware vSphere APIs for IO Filter (VAIO) interfaces.
- Confirm the deletion.